Gene Haas Scholarship

Through the generous support of the Gene Haas Foundation, we are able to offer $15,000 per year in scholarships is to high school seniors enrolled at Anderson W. Clark Magnet High School who will be entering post-secondary machinist-based training or engineering programs.

The 2017 Gene Haas Scholarship Application is now available at this link

Applications will close on Friday, April 28th at 11:59 PM Pacific Daylight time.

The quantity and amount of scholarship awards is variable and is determined by the review committee after all the applications have been reviewed. Individual award amounts are not publicly announced.

E-mail dblack AT gusd DOT net if you have any questions about the Gene Haas Scholarship.


2016 Recipients


At the Clark Magnet Senior Awards Night on May 16st, 2016, instructor David Black (photo left) presented a total of $15,000 in scholarships to twelve recipient students. For the past five years, the school has worked tirelessly to improve and grow its advanced engineering and manufacturing program, which now includes a state-of-the-art advanced manufacturing lab. By partnering with the Gene Haas Foundation, Clark was able to award twelve scholarships this year to these very deserving students who are pursuing further studies in machinist-based training and engineering programs at 2-year colleges and 4-year universities. Now in its second year, the Gene Haas Scholarship has awarded a total of $30,000 in scholarships to 21 graduating students from Clark Magnet High. The 2016 scholarship recipients from left to right in the photo are: Upper Row: Instructor David Black Brandon Canedo Narek Shabandarian Roupen Arabian Shay Sackett Leo Boghozian Tedi Zadouri Lower Row: Dylan Archer Devon Taylor Mika Stanghill Mikia Zohrabian Allen Sotiri Dustin Hunt


2015 Recipients


At the Clark Magnet Senior Awards Night on May 21st, 2015, instructor David Black (left) presented a total of $15,000 in scholarships to nine recipient students. The scholarship recipients from left to right are: Patrick Tumbucon, Vacheh Akepian, Jack Najarian, Joshua Valerio, Olivia Brandt, Cynthia Mirzaie, Alex Torosyan. Not shown: Gamer Hakopian, Adreg Khoodaverdian.